Dracil’s BlogJournal

August 29, 2010

Scott Pilgrim vs. me

Filed under: games, movies, Reviews — Tags: , , , , , — dracil @ 11:08 pm

I guess some people want me to blog, so I’ll write something.  It’s not like anyone really reads my Google Buzz, which usually gets reposted on Facebook anyway, and Facebook is not really suited for long posts.

So I saw this the week before my birthday as part of an early birthday celebration.  I think it’s now one of my favorite movies and I wouldn’t mind watching it again in theaters and will almost definitely buy the blu-ray when it comes out.

It’s a travesty that Vampire Suck is doing better than this.  What a sad state the world is in.

Anyway, since I became a little obsessed, I got the original comic books and the game and finished both within the week.  The comic book differs quite a bit from the movie after the third ex-boyfriend.  Some of the events also get shifted around for the movie, lines are said by different characters, and so on.  But otherwise it’s a pretty good adaption.

The video game follows the comic book for the most part, with some liberal interpretation to make the stages and bosses interesting, and also so you can play a bunch of different characters, not just Scott.

The first ex, I think all three mediums were awesome.  The second ex, I think the movie was the best.  The third ex, I think movie won out there as well.  The fourth ex, the comic book gives some more backstory and other characters, so I think the comic book wins there.  The fifth and six ex, comic book wins.  The movie’s fights for them was just dumb and boring.  The seventh ex, the movie was more fun, though it had a bit of a cliched lesson thing.  Comic book was a bit convoluted for this one, and almost deux ex machina in feeling.

Because of the additional backstory, the characters also make a bit more sense in the comic books which was just glossed over but still worked out okay in the movie.

The video game for the most part gets the same ratings as the comic book as far as plot goes, with bizarre endings, buggy crashes, 4-player co-op and a fun leveling system and a nice old-school feel that’s been missing from most modern games.

Both the movie and game had some nice music.  Obviously the comics do not have music, but it does come with lyrics, guitar tabs, and music suggestions the author used for inspiration.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

