Dracil’s BlogJournal

March 25, 2009

Canon T1i (500D)

Filed under: News, photography — dracil @ 1:34 am

Finally, the next model in my camera series has been officially announced.

Looks to be releasing at the same price point too.

What’s new?  It can record video now.  While it can do 1080P, the 20FPS means it’s unusable.  But 720P is doable at 30FPS.  The mic is internal, which a lot of people are complaining about.  It also has a bunch of 50D features, like high ISOs up to 12800.  15MP is kinda meh in my opinion.  I would’ve been happier if it had stayed at 12MP.  It does look like the noise is better than the 50D though.  Here was a comparison pic I found on a forum.

3384705252_ed8ffd268c_o

Left: 500D, 12800 iso, 2.8 aperture, 1/4th second
Right: 50D, 12800 iso, 2.8 aperture, 1/6th second

If that’s real, then this would definitely become really tempting for me, because of the amount of low-light shots I’ve taken in the past and the worse noise is why I lost interest in the 50D so quickly.  It also has 50D’s new anti-dust thing but I guess we can see how effective it is from people’s experience with the 50D, which is another annoyance for me and why I generally don’t change lenses as often as I probably should (in fact, I haven’t changed lenses since I got my EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM lenses).  Only thing 50D really has over it is the micro-adjustments of AF.  Ergonomics is really subjective.

1 Comment »

  1. Looks like it is going to be a very interesting release. I agree with you on all terms. I don’t care about 15MP (hello diffraction) but MP are still a strong marketing argument.
    The 12800 ISO looks promising though. That alone would make the camera worth it.

    Comment by myphotoscout — March 25, 2009 @ 5:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

