Dracil’s BlogJournal

July 25, 2008

Ankle Injury Day 6 (Surgery)

Finally got my surgery done.  Long day.  Went in at 11 and was asked the same questions over and over that must be on half a dozen medical sheets by now.  :P  But better to be safe after all.

Several pinpricks including one that actually hurt (for bloodwork).  Had a physical therapist teach me about crutches again.  This one was better I think as she actually helped me practice on the stairs so now I know what I was doing wrong, so I can theoretically go up and down the stairs properly now, as long as there’s railings.

Stripping naked I guess was expected.

Got to watch some TV which I don’t usually get to do (or bother to do really).

OR room was really cold, but the heated blankets helped.  I was actually given a choice of anesthesia.  Spinal block vs. going out completely.  Choice was easy.  :P  When it comes to stuff like this, ignorance is bliss.

Surgery took 2.5 hours, and I was out for maybe half an hour to an hour after that, and kinda weak for an hour after that.  It was really warm after that, and it took me a while before I realized I should just take those heavy blankets off from the surgery which helped a little (I think the sun was shining into my room).

Got to wipe myself with some wet cleaning wipes just before I left, which was nice.

Wheelchair which the PT insisted I get just got delivered.  It’s too big to be of use in the house, but I guess it would be more convenient when going outside?  Less risk of falling at least.  Though I can’t exactly use it without help either since I need to go down a flight of stairs first, unless I leave it outside all the time (which doesn’t seem good, could get stolen or just get plain dirty).  I’ll keep it for a month then see if it’s actually useful, then maybe I’ll return it.

Also, thank you to all the people who’ve been asking after me.  And especially big thanks to my landlady and landlord, who’re giving me food and taking me to the hospital.  Especially since it’s actually really inconvenient for them to do so because of some circumstances…

1 Comment »

  1. Sorry to hear about your series of unfortunate events.

    May you have a speedy recovery!

    Comment by Blitzwing — July 26, 2008 @ 10:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

