Dracil’s BlogJournal

June 7, 2008

Sex and the City

Filed under: movies, Reviews — Tags: , , , , , — dracil @ 12:49 am

This was agreed on with Leqi about last weekend.  She texted me and asked if I wanted to see it on Wed, but I had Dine About Town, so we set it for today.

After I got out of the station, I noticed a mini protest (Free the Cuban Five), so I whipped out my camera and started taking pictures.  One of the people actually came up to me and asked if I was a reporter.  :D  That was kinda cool, and I don’t even have a telephoto lens yet.  If only he knew I was committing a very newbie mistake at the time (forgot to check my ISO so everything was shot at ISO 1600) :P

Called Leqi who was inside already.  Was going to get Out The Door for dinner but they were closed for repairs.  We ate at Buckhorn Grill instead.  She got some salad and I got sirloin tri-tip. Wasn’t bad actually (I don’t have too high an expectation of food court food).  The meat was a bit tough though/the knives weren’t sharp enough.

We got there 15 minutes before the show started but it was pretty much packed already.  We ended up with 3rd row seats, which kinda sucked, because this was also Leqi’s first time in an American movie theater (the 8:15 show was actually sold out, or we would’ve gone for that, instead we settled for 7:15).

As expected, it was mostly women.  If there was a guy, he was almost certainly with a girl.  Though I did see at least one gay couple and a group of three guys with girls (so at least one of the guys was not attached).  Definitely a chick flick.

That said, the movie was pretty cool.  I mean, it still had the basic romantic comedy formula I’ve described before, but since there were four women, there was more variation.  It also had some funny moments, including one really funny one that was perfect in the context of the movie.  So I thought that was great.  It also helped that the audience was generally in the right mood too which made the film more enjoyable.  Given that I’ve never seen Sex and the City before, I’d say the movie was very well done, though there was at one critical part of the story that required a pretty heavy dose of suspension of disbelief.  The movie also definitely earned its R rating with exposed breasts and one penis.

As I was going home, I took advantage of the fact that I had my camera to take a picture of the rare clear sky here.  Made me really wish I had a tripod though.  Even laying the camera on my bag caused some slight movement.  Not sure if it was ’cause of movement after the shutter press (even with a 2 second timer) or the wind.  One of the better shots was actually handheld too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

