Dracil’s BlogJournal

May 7, 2008

Evolution: The Musical! premiere

I actually completely forgot about it. It wasn’t until I was cleaning out my wallet that I noticed the ticket. Oops. Of course, I also didn’t remember where it was at. Rushed back home (was almost there anyway), then rushed back out. I was 20 minutes late, which wasn’t too bad.

They were asking people from the audience to come up and demonstrate their special talents. Blah. Then they asked for someone called Gabriel because they wanted to show their earlier works, one of which was about Gabriel (as in the angel from the Bible).

The actual one they showed isn’t on Youtube, but it’s available on their main site called Angel in the Outfield. If you’re lazy and just want a quick Youtube video, here’s one.

You can check out other stuff on the their site.

After that, one of the guys dressed up as Satan and asked people to come up and answer questions about their lives and see if they’re going to Hell. I think most people decided they would and were just saying yes or coming up with stuff. Only the first person kinda told the truth and actually didn’t go to Hell. :P

Their second video was Jelly Donut which is the following two videos:

They actually had Jelly Donut go up on stage after that and do some songs. There was one audience participation song about masturbation. Say mmm-mmm if you masturbate once a month, oo-oui if you do it twice a week, He-ey! if you do it every day, and basically yell out NoNoh-NoNoNoNoNo if you don’t masturbate ever. I think only one person in the audience said No. :P Quite a few actually said something for the others and they joked about the audience telling total strangers about their masturbation habits. Aside from the topic, the song was pretty catchy. Some people were dancing to it.

Their second video was some claymation they did, which was actually kinda funny (it’s NQSFW though)

There may have been something else, but I don’t remember, but after that was the main event of the night. The 38-minute long musical wasn’t bad. Well, it sort of was, but I liked some of the songs too. Definitely very cheesy. It’s basically one of those love stories between two warring factions (The Blesseds, who descended from Adam and Eve, and the Beasties, who evolved from primates).

After that, there was some Q&A with the people involved in the film. The girl who played the leader of the Beasties sounded pretty drunk. :P

All in all… this was definitely not my normal type of crowd or place (it’s a bar!). What is it with me and bars these days? I think it’s good I went alone, as I don’t think this was something most of my friends could probably stand (I probably have the crudest humor among my friends, and even this was crude for me, so…)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

