Dracil’s BlogJournal

April 25, 2008

Sing of the Lord’s Goodness

A couple weeks ago, around the time the Olympic torch was in SF, I noticed this street musician playing a familiar tune on his saxophone. After a while I realized that it was the same melody as Sing of the Lord’s Goodness which I hear at church relatively often.

I didn’t think about it again till today. Then I remembered that I’d looked up this song in the past. The reason the guy was playing this song was not because he was some random Christian (maybe he was), but more likely, it was because this song was originally a jazz song by Dave Brubeck called Take Five. This is probably why the tune’s catchier than usual.

Compare the two versions below:

I sorta ODed on Christian worship music during my religious phase in college so I don’t really listen to them anymore, though every time I go to a new church I always look through their song book. I’ve been trying to find a specific version of Gloria in Excelsis Deo that I first and last heard at Newman Hall. I believe the words were all (or at least partially) in Latin. So for example, the second line had “et in terra pax.” So far, no luck. Maybe one of these days if I’m in that area area I should just go in and ask them for the music.

Speaking of music, I didn’t bother checking this at all, but I think one difference between Catholic music other Christian music is that the Catholic music don’t seem to focus as much on Jesus, just God in general, while the other Christian music focuses on Jesus a lot. So much that I sometimes wonder if I’m listening to a love song. I think it’s one of the fundamental differences between Catholics and other Christians. Catholics don’t seem to be as much about the personal relation with Jesus and emotional stuff. I think this may also be true about the early Protestant churches as well (the ones that split right off, like Lutheran, Anglican, etc). I plan on writing more about this in another entry, so I’ll leave this for now.

3 Comments »

  1. Although I attend Mass with all the OCP and GIA malarkey, I didn’t seem to care about the liturgical music. (The most-maligned MASS OF CREATION is actually my fondest childhood memory, and my parish is currently using it since two weeks ago.)

    I do agree that Ernest Sands’ hymn is a passing resemblance (tunewise) to Brubeck’s famous jazz piece. I find it funny to say that it’s a jazz-meets-Haugen-Haas kind of hymn, by the way.

    Comment by whizkidforte — November 26, 2008 @ 6:27 pm

  2. Just heard this at Mass this morning and commented on its Brubeck quality. My daughter the musician said it was Brubeck’s “Take Five.” I’m not a musician. Is it the same or different enough that a different composer is listed?

    Comment by Joyce Hall — June 13, 2010 @ 11:05 am

  3. Well, this is what I found on Google:

    http://www.hymnary.org/hymn/GATHER/547

    Composer: Ernest Sands, b. 1949
    Arranger: Paul Inwood, b. 1947

    Comment by dracil — June 13, 2010 @ 11:56 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

