Dracil’s BlogJournal

April 20, 2008

The more things change…

Filed under: Controversy — Tags: , , , — dracil @ 1:36 am

Reading all these Chinese people talk about Tibet/Western media bias is actually rather interesting.  In fact, it reminds me of the very reaction conservative Americans had when people criticized the US over Iraq not that long ago.

I mean, they’ve even gotten to the point where they’re calling for boycotts of Western products.  Remember Freedom Fries anyone?  Instead of cries of “Why do you hate America?” and “Get out of our country” we get “Why do you hate China?” and “Free Iraq/American Indians”

On the whole though, I think the Chinese aren’t as bad as the Americans were, or at least they’ve toned it down a little.  When it first started though, it was definitely incredibly racist and filled with emotions and defensiveness.  I think a lot of it was because they kept showing me the following video, somehow thinking it would convince me of their position:

It actually had the opposite effect.  All I could get from the video was how condescending and full of mistakes it had.  The liberal cussing in the video did not help either.

It wasn’t until I went to the Free Tibet Protest in SF that my views softened a little.  Ironically, the people I talked to that made me a little more accepting were not Chinese.  One was American.  One was originally from HK who emphatically said “It’s not my government” with regards to the CCP.  The Pro Tibet people weren’t as interested in a dialogue, and even tried to get these people to go away.  Not cool.

Since then it’s been back and forth.  I’ve had one friend asking people who didn’t support the Olympics to remove her from their contact list.  Another friend said she would always support the government (which I find an absurd position to take).  Both acts annoyed me, especially the first one.  On the other hand, I have seen some reasonable stuff.  In particular I was struck by the reactions the Chinese had on what Tibetan students were saying.

I think what I’m trying to say is, you guys have demonstrated that you are certainly capable of calm, rational discussions.  So lay off the nationalism, defensiveness, and especially the conspiracy theories.  They do nothing but hurt your position.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

